Artist Interview: Alfredo Manzo Jr.

Today we have an interview with artist Alfredo Manzo Jr about art, culture, and his late father, the artist Alfredo Manzo. I included both Alfredo’s answers in Spanish and the English translation by Xico board member Brian Barabe (thanks Brian!). Enjoy.

1.       Como influyen su cultura y su historia familial en los temas que escoge y los estilos que ocupa?

Mi cultura y mi historia familiar influyen de diversas formas puedo decir que son mis dos patrones en la accion de crear una obra de arte ,en lo familiar soy el reflejo de mi padre un gran artista plastico que desde pequeno tallo en mi como ver el mundo y saber jugar con todo el ciclo sociopolitico cultural y consumismo del mundo ha la hora de crear una obra de arte ; en lo cultural proyecto mis estudios y diversas tradiciones afrocubanas y americanas que influyen en la isla de Cuba como son el Pop art y las religion Yoruba.

1.       How does your cultural/family background influence the subjects and style of your art?

My culture and my family history influence my work in various ways.  I can say that my two patterns in the act of creating a work of art are, in relation to family, that I am the reflection of my father, a great plastic artist who from the time I was very small formed in me ways to see the world and to know how to play with the whole sociopolitical/cultural/and consumerist cycle of the world at the moment of creating a work of art.  In relation to cultural influence I project my studies and many Afro-Cuban and American traditions which have influence on the island of Cuba, such as Pop Art and the Yoruba religion.

2.       El título de esta exhibición es “Fuerte.”  Qué significa esto para Ud.?

Fuerte: para mi representa una sola expresion “Cuba” pues mi pais es mi orgullo pero ha la vez forma parte de mi nostalgia de tanta fuerza que tiene que sostener el cubano por la lejania familiar que se observa y los problemas sociales que se afronta desde que se nace en la llamada isla del encanto y eso es lo que siempre proyectare mi fuerza y mi odio y algun dia mi felicidad junto con todo mis hermanos cubanos.

2.       The title of this exhibit is “Fuerte.” What does that remind you of?

The theme, “Fuerte,” represents for me one single expression:  Cuba, for my country is my pride but at the same time causes part of my nostalgia, longing, with such strength, strength which has to sustain Cubans because of the obvious distance of family and the social problems which one faces from one’s birth on the so-called “island of enchantment,” and that is why I will always project my strength and my hatred and some day my happiness with all my Cuban brothers and sisters.

3.       Puede describir para el lector como hace para crear su arte o tal vez como idea una pieza?

Creo mi Pop art como todo artista con mi expresion honesta y sincera ,utilizo acrilico me encanta este material pues al trabajar la planimetria y los fuertes contraste hallo en el esa tranquilidad de un secado rapido y de calidad profesional ;por otro parte mi segunda tecnica el Papier Mache a partir de goma de harina y papel voy formado una estrucutra solida y me desarrollo en ella,puedo decir que es la tecnica de una de mis artistas favorita Antonia Eiriz y precursora de esta proyeccion artistica en mi pais.

3.       Can you describe how you create your art?

I create my Pop Art like every artist, with my honest and sincere expression.  I use acrylics.  I love this material because when I work with surveying and the strong contrasts, I find in the material tranquility from the rapid drying and the professional quality.  Then there is my second technique, medium, papier-mache; with flour paste and paper I go about forming a solid structure and I evolve in it.  I can say that it is the technique of one of my favorite artists, Antonia Eiriz, the precursor of this artistic projection in my country.

4.       Se acuerda del primer momento en que Ud. se vio como “artista”?

Bueno me senti artista desde edad muy temprana en el patio de mi casa con mis crayolas mis pinceles y observando ha mi padre pintar e imitandolo, ese fue mi gran comienzo ;luego segui ejerciendolo y desarollando mis conocimientos y habilidades artisticas en la Academia de Arte.

4.       Do you remember when you first identified yourself as “an artist”?

I felt like an artist from an early age–in the patio of my home with my crayons and paint brushes, observing my father paint and imitating him.  That was my great beginning.  Then I kept practicing and developing my knowledge and artistic abilities at the Academy of Art.

5.       En su trayecto de artista, que proyectos o  cambios o esperanzas lo esperan por hacer realidad?

En lo que me espera de trayecto artistico solo una esperanza quisiera que las personas que observen mi obra o la de mi padre se sientan parte de ella y capten un mensaje positivo ,yo seguire con mas fuerza desarrollando y mezclando mi arte, representando mis ideales e influencias culturales.

5.       What’s next for you in your career as an artist?

As for what lies ahead in my artistic journey–just one hope:  I would like the persons who observe my work, or my father’s, to feel part of it and to receive a positive message.  I will continue with more effort to develop and mix my art, expressing my cultural ideals and influences.

