Father’s Day: A Guest Post by Artist Gennaro Garcia

Today we have a guest post in honor of Father’s Day. In this essay local artist Gennaro Garcia  writes about the joys and challenges of being a father and a son (you can see his amazing work at www.artbygennaro.com). The essay is repeated in Spanish below.

And if you’re still looking for a perfect Father’s Day present check out our gift suggestions.

In My Own Eyes I’m Not Yet A Father…

Frida Sophia is the name of my beloved daughter, a lil’ baby of 18 months, with the biggest  black eyes you can imagine, she looks just like her mom, she’s bella. With a way to break you at a glance and a voice that even an archangel could envy, with skin so soft and a skin color that only God could create, she has the cutest little mouth on this universe and when she kisses you, you realize that heaven exists. It is difficult to describe without feeling a lump in my throat. God has blessed me and I hope that God will not charge me because I’ll be in debt. In a couple of days father’s day will be celebrated and I know my wife want to surprise me… but I don’t like the idea.

Why? Well, for me I’m not yet a father, let me explain.

For me being a father isn’t just about giving life to my Lil Frida, no, not so easy. For me to be a father is earned in a lifetime, not just that fast, I need more time for that, but every day I work harder and hope one day  to deserve to be called father. It’s going to be a long road until that happens, but for now, God am I enjoying it!

It’s incredible how a look at 3 in the morning can make you forget the baby woke you up because she can’t find her pacifier; pure magic, pure love, she’s my daughter. My experience with my daughter is unmatched, and thank God I do not work…well I paint if you can call that work. But I  don’t do it very often, and not because I don’t have time but because I prefer to be sitting down with her  in her tiny chairs drinking invisible tea, with a tiara on my head (I think I like it) and eating a whole chicken in plastic (a little more tasty than that restaurant in Gibraltar) I prefer to spend the time taking pictures of her  and watching Dora the explorer with lil’ frida in my chest. I prefer to go to the park to let her play, to show her how to touch all the plants and dirt, for her to see, hear and explore, I prefer going to the mall to see people’s faces when they see her and feel full of pride when they tell me how beautiful she is.I prefer to go to the museum and explain her over and over the paintings and sculptures, even when she sleeps. I prefer to paint with her than paint her.

Sometimes during the day when I see her ignoring me to see a ladybug in the backyard I get tears of such beauty, and I laugh because I realize what I’ve become and I would not change it in the world and for this I thank my beautiful Briseida, she gave me the joy of having this baby in my arms, and each day that passes by I see how identical she is to her, so beautiful, tender, and a laugh more intoxicating that can exist, I live for them.

The other night I woke up mid dawn and could not sleep by a horrible dream that I had, and I sat watching my wife sleep, the serenity of her beautiful face gave a smile to my face, I walked to see my Lil’ Frida and discovered the same serenity in her little face … and gave me a smile in to my face….with a tear.

I remembered the first time I had her in my arms and I promised to my dear God to always, always give them a good sleep with that serenity in their faces. I would stay awake looking out for theyre dreams, daydreaming awake but with you both, by my side, you both.

Each day that passes by I realize I’m not alone, I have the biggest responsibility in the world, to care, give, teach, forgive, to love, enjoy, and advise her and so each day that passes by brings me closer to being a real father …. like my father.

Happy Fathers day to my father, Luciano Garcia, the best friend and father, the one who I have never had to ask for advice because all his words are that and more. It will be difficult to follow in his footsteps……… when I become a father.
Gennaro Garcia-
husband, artist, brother, son, and one day, father.

En mis hojos todavia no soy un padre….

Frida Sophia es el nombre de mi adorada hija, una nena de 18 meses con los hojas mas grandes y negros que puedas imaginar, se parece tando a su madre, es bella, con una forma de doblarte con solo una mirada y con una voz que el mismo arcangel envidiaria,
con una piel tan suave y un color de piel que solo dios pudo crear, tiene la boquita mas linda de este universo y cuando te besa te das cuanta que el cielo existe, es dificil describirle sin sentir un nudo en la garganta,  Dios mio que si me a bendecido, espero que Dios no me cobre porque le quedare debiendo.

En algunos dias se que me festejaran el dia del padre…pero no me agrada la idea, porque? bueno, para mi todabia no soy padre… ok les explico,
para mi ser padre no es solo el hecho de darle vida a mi lil frida, no,  no tan facil, para mi ser padre se gana en toda una vida, no nomas asi de rapido, me falta tanto para eso,pero cada dia me esmero para merecer mas ser llamado padre, se sera largo para que llege ese dia pero por lo pronto Dios mio si lo estoy disfrutanto.

Es increible como una mirada a las 3 de la manana puede hacerte holbidar que la nena te desperto porque no encuentra el chupon,
mi experiencia con mi hija es inigual, ya que gracias a dios no trabajo… bueno pinto si a eso se le puede llamar trabajo, pero casi no lo hago, y no porque no tenga tiempo pero porque prefiero estar sentado en sus sillas diminutas tomando te invisible con una tiara en mi cabeza ( creo me gusta ) y comiendo un pollo entero de plastico ( unpoco mas sabroso que aquel restaurant en gibraltar) y prefiero pasarmela tomandole fotos y viendo Dora la Explorer. Prefiero hir al parque a jugar y que toque todas las plantas y la tierra, que vea, escuche y explore, prefiero hir a la mall para ver la cara de la gente cuando la ven, para sentirme lleno de orgullo cuando me dicen lo hermosa que es, prefiero hir al museo y explicarle una y otra ves las pinturas y esculturas aun cuando ella duerme, prefiero pintar con ella que pintarla a ella.
Aveses durante el dia la veo cuando me esta ignorando por ver una ladybug en el patio y se me salen las lagrimas de tanta belleza, y me rio porque me doy cuenta y realiso en lo que me e  convertido, y me doy cuenta que no lo cambiaria por nada del mundo y por esto le doy gracias a mi bella Briseida, ella me dio la dicha de tener esta nena en mis brasos, y cada dia que pasa veo como es identica a ella, bella, tierna, con la risa mas intoxicante que puede existir, vivo por ellas.

La otra noche me desperte a media madrugada y no pude dormir por un sueno horrible que tube, y me quede sentado viendo a mi esposa dormir, la serenidad de su rostro bello me dio una sonrisa em mi rostro, camine a ver a mi lil frida y descubri la misma serenidad en su pequeno rostro…y me dio una sonrisa mojada de una lagrima,recorde la primera vez que te tuve ne mis brasos y  le prometi a diosito que siempre , siempre les daria a las dos eso, el poder dormir con serenidad en sus rostros. Yo, asi me quedaria despierto velando por sus suenos, despierto pero sonando despierto con las dos, a mi lado, las dos.

Cada dia que pasa me doy cuenta que no estoy solo, que tengo la responsabilidad mas grande del mundo cuidarle, darle, ensenarle, perdonarle, amarle, disfrutarle, aconsejarle, y asi cada dia que pase me acercare mas a ser un verdadero padre….como mi padre.

Feliz Dia del Padre a mi padre luciano Garcia, el mejor amigo y padre, al que nunce e tenido la necesidad de pedirle un consejo porque todas sus palabras son eso y mas. Se sera dificil seguir sus pasos para ser como el…. cuando sea padre.
Gennaro Garcia-
Esposo, artista, hermano, hijo and one day, father.

