Artist Interview: April Edwards

Altar for Marsha Powell by April Edwards

Today we’re interviewing April Edwards, an artist who was born in Great Bend, Kansas and now lives in Phoenix. She has had a unique career of working as an artist, administrator and consultant for over 20 years. April is a visual/installation artist whose work is based on a global perspective of world cultures and the stories that unify us. April is also a member of the Phoenix Fridas. She has an amazing altar at Xico for the Dia de los Muertos exhibition through Nov. 8th, 2011.

Did you grow up with El Dia de los Muertos?

No I didn’t. I first heard about it in 1995, when I was working at ASU Public Events. They had partnered with Ballet Arizona who had been commissioned to create a piece inspired by the celebration. A few years later I was invited to participate in an exhibit hosted by Vision Gallery. My first altar honored my cat of 20 years.

What’s your favorite Dia de los Muertos symbol?

Papel picado

What mediums do you work in? Which ones would you like to try? How are they similar and different?

I am a painter, but also do jewelry and mixed media installations                                                    

How does culture influence your art?

 Much of my work includes some subtle commentary on social issues in the US. It also reflects on my experiences as a woman in the 21 st century. 

What are you working on right now? What are you doing next as an artist?

 I will be exhibiting at several locations for Dia de Los Muertos and selling at the upcoming Sunnyslope Artwalk.

My new series is based called “Indian Wedding” is based on my experience attending a traditional Hindu wedding in New Delhi, India last year. 

